簡介 • 館內導覽

歡迎來到孫中山檳城基地紀念館

喬治市世遺核心區的南洋建築精髓

孫中山檳城基地紀念館是一間位於多元文化的喬治市世界文化遺產核心區內經過精心修復的戰前老屋。館內設有“孙中山在檳榔嶼”的圖文展,介紹孫中山在檳榔嶼策劃1911年廣州起義(黃花崗起義)的革命事蹟。
venue_hire

世界歷史的接軌

馬六甲海峽的歷史城市,馬六甲及喬治市因其風格迴異的歷史建築及城市風貌、多元文化共存共生及多層次色彩的歷史、無形文化遺產及活生生的人文古蹟而登錄聯合 國教科文組織《世界文化遺產名錄》。當您惬意地徜徉在古蹟區尋古探幽之際,歡迎前來探索這間老房子如何與世界及本地歷史接軌。
館內圖文並茂的介紹及導覽,將帶領您重溫這間老房子引人入勝的歷史點滴。1910年,孫中山 ( 1866 – 1925 ) 在檳榔嶼(舊名庇能)尋獲對其推翻滿清政權的支持,因而將同盟會南洋總機關部移設檳榔嶼。同年,當孫中山與家眷寓居檳城逾4個月期間,這間坐落於打銅仔街 120號不起眼的老房子曾載下這些史蹟 :

  • 這裡曾是檳城閱書報社的社址,該閲書報社是為孫中山革命活動做掩護而成立的。
  • 由孫中山在1910年催生的《光華日報》也在此創刊。《光華日報》至今是世界上依然出版,歷史最悠久的中文報。
  • 孫中山在此發表為1911年的黃花崗起義(又稱三 二九之役或第二次廣州起義)募款的動人演說,為革命揭開了序幕。
facade

南洋建築的精髓

這座建於1880前後的街屋是海峽殖民地商贾民居的典範。在這超過130尺 ( 40 米 ) 瘦長的屋身裡還保留著其原來的風貌 ,即隱秘的天井小花園、精緻的實木樓梯、華麗的地磚及穿白灰而過的巨大橫梁。跨入屋內,典雅的鑲螺酸枝木傢俱及精雕細琢的雕花槅扇映入眼簾;在屋子的後 部,配置着古老木柴火爐及廚房用具的傳統娘惹廚房將帶您步入時光隧道。
這間房子自1926年由當時的閩南商贾莊長水所擁有。現今, 則由他那身為作家及古蹟保存推動者的外孫女,邱思妮女士來守護這棟充滿歷史意義的房子。 2010至2011年間,這棟房子經歷了一次立面及屋頂的大修,由來自閩南泉州的師傅將其精湛的彩繪及生動的嵌瓷藝術,重新融入原已被破壞的立面。

團體預約或詢問,請聯絡:

孫中山檳城基地纪念館地址:馬來西亞檳城打銅仔街120號
120,Armenian Street,George Town, 10200 Penang,Malaysia電話:+60(0)4 262 0123 / 261 0307手機: 016-555-1910傳真:+60(0)4 263 3970電郵:sunyatsenpenang@gmail.com網站:www.sunyatsenpenang.com
館內定時提供免費中文或英文導覽(請提前預約)。
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

INTRODUCTION • IN-HOUSE GUIDED TOUR

Welcome to the Sun Yat Sen Museum Penang (formerly the Sun Yat Sen Penang Base), 120 Armenian Street, Penang.

venue_hire

A historic gem in the heart of  the George Town world heritage site.
The Sun Yat Sen Museum is a beautifully-preserved house museum in the multicultural George Town world heritage site. This historical house has a permanent exhibition on Sun Yat Sen’s early revolutionary period in Penang when he planned a historic uprising of the China Revolution of 1911.

A Link To World History

The historic city of George Town has been listed as a world heritage site by UNESCO for its architectural heritage and townscape, cultural diversity and multilayered history, its living heritage communities and intangible heritage. Immerse yourself in our shared past. Discover how this important house preeminently connects global and local history.

A permanent exhibition and guided tour offer a window into the extraordinary history of the house. In 1910, Sun Yat Sen (1866–1925) moved the Southeast Asian headquarters of the Tongmenghui party to Penang because he found renewed support among the Overseas Chinese here for the overthrow of China’s Qing dynasty. In the same year, when Sun Yat Sen lived in Penang with his family for over four months, the house at 120 Armenian Street was where:

  • The Penang Philomatic Union – a reading club – was based, providing a cover for Sun’s political party.
  • The world’s oldest Chinese newspaper Kwong Wah Yit Poh was founded by Sun Yat Sen in 1910.
  • Sun Yat Sen convened the celebrated Penang Conference and delivered his famous speech to plan the Huanghuagang Uprising, an important milestone leading to the Chinese revolution of 1911.
facade

Built around 1880 as a residential townhouse, the building is a very fine example of a Straits Settlements merchant’s home. Unusually long at over 130 feet (40 metres) it retains many of its original features – an intimate courtyard garden, a handsome timber staircase, geometric floor tiles, and large beams spanning lime plaster walls. The interior displays original blackwood Straits Chinese furniture and ornately carved wooden screens. The old-fashioned Nyonya kitchen preserves the original firewood stove and kitchen utensils.

From 1926 the house was owned by a Hokkien merchant, Ch’ng Teong Swee. His granddaughter, the writer and heritage advocate, Khoo Su Nin also known as Khoo Salma Nasution, is custodian of the house today. In 2010–11 the house underwent extensive renovation to its façade and roof, drawing on the time-honoured skills of craftsmen from Quanzhou, southern China.

Personal guided tours are available via our in-house tour guides.

 

For Information & Group Booking Contact

Sun Yat Sen Museum Penang,
120 Armenian Street,
George Town World Heritage Site,
10200 Penang, Malaysia.

60 (0)4 262 0123 / 261 0307
60 (0)4 263 3970
sunyatsenpenang@gmail.com
www.sunyatsenpenang.com

Tour languages English, Mandarin, and Malay.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.